This morning I got it in my head that you might like to see how I make my scones. Would you?

I didn’t have scones, growing up in Nebraska. Or bagels, either- I had my first bagel when I was 12 years old, the year I had my first airplane flight. At home we had biscuits and bread, and all kinds of lovely desserts from scratch.

But once I’d tasted scones I was forever smitten and I knew I had to learn to make them. I started using something near to my current formula when I was living in New England in 1992. I change it around based on what I have in the house and what is seasonally appealing. Here are the ingredients I used today:

1 1/4 cup oats, ground in my rocket blender to equal about 1 cup

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/4 cup whole wheat flour

1/4 cup wheat gern

1 Tablespoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 Tablespoons sugar

1/2 cup cold butter, cut into pea-sized cubes

1 c. heavy cream

Added to half the batch, 1/3 cup dried blueberries

Added to the other half, 1/3 cup currants and 1/3 cup walnuts, more or less

